On Small Groups

Looking back, the closest that I have been to Christ, when I could hear Him most clearly, was not in an institutional church, but in a small group. While in college, I attended Intervarsity Christian Fellowship. At the time, Intervarsity did not have a local student body director, we students met on our own, when the Spirit moved us. There were perhaps 12 of us that met on a regular basis, and we developed a very unique method of bible study. We would pray as a group before we adjourned, and whomever the Lord touched was responsible to bring the next weeks lesson. It was that simple, the Lord directed us. Well, after graduation, I ended up back in an institutional church, one with all of the man-made rules, boards, “methods”, etc. I slowly starved to death. It was my fault, I should have been looking for that same small group somewhere else, but I thought that if I was at church on Sunday morning, Sunday nite, and Wednesdays, I would be fed and would grow. Wrong. Deep inside I always resented the church hierarchy, but could never place my finger on why I disliked it so. Now that I have been reading about house church / simple church, I see that I was not alone at all, there are many thousands of us out there all along.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On Small Groups

  1. Norma says:

    I think it is important to be connected to a small group fellowship, but after about 35 years of various “contract” groups which lasted from 6 weeks to 15 years, I now feel closer to God in corporate worship, with liturgy and old, public domain hymns. Fortunately, in Christianity and in Jesus, one size doesn’t fit all.

  2. Jim says:

    You are absolutely correct, Norma. I am in a liturgical church, which blends modern worship songs with historical creeds, and practices. I’ve been both places, and I think I need both.Nice to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

