Did You Just See Jesus?


This actually happened to my son and I several years back, and it still haunts me. We were very busy at the time with Cub Scouts, and were meeting in a local church that was our sponsor.

One night as we let out of scouts, my son and I were walking out into the parking lot. It was winter, cold and rainy, and was already dark. There across the parking lot I saw a tall man quickly walking my way, and as he drew closer I saw that he had on a cowboy hat and cowboy boots. He walked directly toward me and asked me if I belonged to this church, and stated that he needed a place to spend the night. I looked at him, he was Mexican, tall, thin, with gentle eyes. I told him that I did not belong to this church, but to come in, I knew several people here and that we could help him.

This church’s renewal group was just letting out, and I had once belonged to it and knew several of the members. As they stepped out into the hall, I quickly explained the situation. The man began to speak for himself in excellent English. The man explained that he needed a place to stay, and could he just sleep in the church for the night? All he needed was a blanket. The “Renewalists” talked amongst themselves, and then summoned the assistant Pastor. He came down, and with all of the authority he could muster said that there was no way that the man could possibly sleep in the church. The Mexican man asked them, “What is the purpose of your Church? “. Then someone spoke up and suggested that they take the man to the police department, because the Police could issue stranded guests a courtesy coupon that was good for a night at a local hotel. By this point I was fed up with all of this junk, and suggested that we just do something right now ourselves. The man gently touched my shoulder, shook his head, and said “No, it is alright”. He then talked to one of men there who was a minority, and said, “You are an XYZ, aren’t you?”. The man nodded, somewhat surprised that this man could discern his ancestry. “Then you should understand my situation, shouldn’t you?”. That man just repeated that “we” would take him to the police department, and that ”they” would take care of him. The Mexican man slowly shook his head, and I took his arm. He looked me in the eyes, patted me on the shoulder and said something like “It’s OK, I know…”, and walked out the door. I turned in anger to give “them” an earful, but then quickly turned back to my son and said “Come on, let’s go get him.” We walked out of the door, and stared out into the parking lot. It is a big parking lot, and would take me 4-5 minutes to walk across from the direction he had just come. But he was gone. We got into my truck, and drove around all the city streets on that block, but did not see anything moving. He had simply vanished. I began to get goose bumps on my neck at that point, and told my son “D” the story of the Good Samaritan, and about how Abraham had extended hospitality to Angels and had not realized it. Then it struck me that this could have been an Angel sent to this church, and that they had not recognized the time of their visitation. I told “D” to never forget this lesson, that sometimes in order to do good you have to be able to react quickly, without hesitation. And that this often times means you will act alone. Now I am living in the shadow of that lesson. Ultimately, it really doesn’t even matter if he was an angel…

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’ “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’ “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’ “He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’ “Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in angels among us, hypocrisy, Jesus, poor, true religion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

