Gaining Altitude

I am gaining altitude over this whole thing. Several days ago I felt like whale crap. And that sinks. Really, but that has passed.

But today I have realized that this is in part what God has planned for me. I don’t think it will stay this way for long, but for now this is where I “walk the dog”.

Our God is a Warrior. No doubt. And He is taking me into the battle.

1Sa 16:18 One of the servants answered and said, Behold, I have seen a son of Jesse the Bethlehemite who is skillful in playing, and a mighty warrior, and a man of battle, and skillful in speech, and a man of form. And Jehovah is with him.

It seems to me that this is a lot like me taking my son on a 10 mile mountain bike ride. In the beginning, he thought it was cool, fun. After 5 miles, he was struggling. We stopped, I pulled two apples out of my pack, and we sat under an oak tree. I could see the look of doubt in his eyes, like he had bitten off more than he could chew. After eating an apple, talking, and drinking some gatorade we started again.

I had to encourage him, lead him along the best path in woods, show him how to miss the rocks and roots, tell him that he could do it. By the time we finished, he was proud, almost cocky, and ready for another round of pain. By that point, though, he had been there, and back. He knew he could do this. And I had led him, he was not alone.

Life now is very similar. The mountain bike trail had some really steep climbs, legs burning, lungs screaming, eyes-stinging-with-sweat type climbs.

There’s no turning back, the cards are all out on the table. But that’s good. I’ve been praying about change, about things that seem impossible, about where I fit into the kingdom. This is probably the beginning of an answer to those prayers.

David was a mighty warrior, and Jehovah was with him.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in altitude, battle, David. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

