He Who Would Follow Me…

Did I mention that I went to New Wineskins back in the spring?  I did.  And it was singularly the most important, and motivating, conference I’ve ever attended. And the more I think about this, the more I understand that it’s because the entire focus was on others.  Other people, other cultures, and their needs. It was not a “me-centered” gospel message.  At all. “Me” was coincidental, if he was there at all. The entire thing was about Jesus. And I met some very wonderful people while I was there as well.

And at the moment, I’m reading a book called “Following Jesus Through The Eye Of the Needle”, by Kent Annan. It is a very clear, sometimes disturbing, and challenging look into the life of one missionary and his wife who’ve taken Jesus at his word.  The whole thing reminds me of Charles De Foucauld, his life and mission.

I’ve only begun reading it, within the first 3 chapters, but can already tell that the challenges will become greater, the questions more direct, the soul searching more intense.

I’ll keep you posted.

And I’ve got a few characters out of the Bible that I’d like to open up for discussion. And what their stories say about God, his ways, and what that means to us. About our stories, and what God is doing in our lives.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in eye of the needle, following Jesus, Kent Annan, needle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

