When Disobedience is Civil

I listened to Chuck Colson, via Stand Firm, this morning.

This is a question I’ve been asking myself lately, “when is it OK to disobey the law?”

Some would say never, for we’re commanded to respect and honor those in authority over us. True. I believe that with all of my heart. But history is replete with (S)saints who have bucked the system because it was violating the higher Law. I don’t think anyone has taken that mantle on lightly, but we need to think about and be firm in our understanding of this before the time would present itself.

Read the link to the Manhattan Declaration, and take a look at Dr. George and Chuck Colson’s video statements regarding our God-given liberties.

Eyes wide open.

I love that after all of these years, we all can claim a Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., or a Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  Sometimes these firebrands are hard to focus on up close, often we need some time and distance for them to be seen clearly in the context of their time.

God help us to see, hear, and obey, more quickly.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in Chuck Colson, civil disobedience, Dr. Timothy George, manhattan declaration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

