Building A Home

I’m sitting in my apartment, still surrounded by boxes. They make passable end tables, and book shelves, after all.

I want to see this place become the home I see in my mind for my children, but it is far from that vision right now  Tomorrow I’ll finish cleaning up all of the things that were still needing to make the trip.

At this point, it’s mostly here. A few items that will take both my son and I, and it’ll be finished. I’ll have made the transition that I’ve fought so hard against for so long.  I have to say this gently, but I am relieved.

And at once, I’m desiring to have my children here as much as possible. One step at a time.

I also have several standing invitations, to come and relax and visit with friends who love me more than I can understand. That’s a blessing. They want me to visit just to unwind. But I don’t have reserves like that, no real funds to make a trip to exotic places like Costa Rica.

But I will go to Toronto fairly soon. I’ve been thinking about it for a few months now, but have been dealing with this side of life, and have put it off. But now that things are moving along, I have to visit my friend M.  He and his family have made an incredible journey to get there, and we will meet once again.  He and I spent a few days together in N. Carolina several years ago in his dorm, he had so little, yet he shared it all. It brought tears to my eyes, realizing how greedy, and selfish, we are in comparison.  It was such a powerful connection, a fabulous time. And a special friendship was made.

So I’m going to live on PB&J’s for a few more weeks, and then buy a ticket for sometime in late March. The kids birthdays are early in the month, and M is traveling out of country then as well, so late March it is.

So, if the Lord is willing, I’ll once again make a visit to Toronto.  I passed through when I was 19, on the way to Algonquin Provincial Park with my cousin. This time Toronto IS the destination.

Then there is Quebec City. When I was 13 years old. I went with the French class and fell in love with it. I’ve always wanted to return, one day.  I don’t know where this came from. But it is a very beautiful place.

Time to sleep, I have boxes to to deal with in the AM.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in divorce, moving, Toronto. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

