The English Patient

My good friend Jack told me about this film, and invited me over to watch it with he and his wife, and another couple that are good friends of ours. That would have made me the fifth wheel. Interesting… I was unable to make it, but the title stayed with me long enough that I rented it last Thursday night.

Some might classify it as a “chic-flic”, a romantic love story set against the backdrop of war. I remember hearing John Eldredge say that there is really only one story. That all of the great stories that move us are an echo, an attempt to retell some eternal truth that God has already told in His story.

Rom 1:19-20 They know the truth about God because he has made it obvious to them. For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made, they can clearly see his invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature. So they have no excuse for not knowing God.

This must be the reason we continue to retell the great themes of the Gospel, and are moved by them. We know this on an instinctual level, it’s obvious to us.

You really have a rare look into someone when you learn what their favorite movies are. They tell you a little more about their hopes and dreams, the things they hold dear, about their own unique glory.

It was a long movie, definitely mature content, but it really portrayed the human quest for love very well. There were good wives who became unfaithful, illicit lovers who discovered the meaning of love, and there was redemption. What was ignoble, and set aflame by human lust, went through the fire and was purified.

There were wounds, and scars, and suffering. Smooth skin melted into unrecognizable forms. But that frailty made the whispered story all the more important. He was willing to risk everything he had in order to rescue the one he loved. Sound familiar?

Perhaps a whispered story speaks loudest because it requires something more of you. You have to really get near, close your eyes, and strain to catch each word. You have to really want to hear it, before you can hear it. That should sound familiar too. Only I just said it in a different way.

I won’t ruin the film for you. But John is right. Even in this, what stirred me most were the mythic truths and parallels to THE STORY. But I’ve found stories like this increasingly difficult to watch over the last several years. I’ve always been a sucker for a love story. I didn’t say chic-flic. Guys can’t watch chic-flics, and if they are good ones we have to call them something else.

Yeah, I awoke at 3 am today. I had a Dr. Pepper yesterday afternoon, which I thought might be a bad idea after I drank it.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in movies, The English Patient. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The English Patient

  1. KJP says:

    If Bond would not be in it, avoid the film – has always been my motto…..

  2. chuck says:

    I always suspected you were a Bond devotee…

Leave a Reply

