Your Destiny Is Not Your Decision


I  keep this piece of paper on my dresser, it once rode around in my wallet when I carried one that could hold more than a drivers license, a credit card and a $5 bill.  The story of how I came to hold it is neat. It was simply by chance…. right! It was given to me at the right time, bread for the journey.

But the point, in my mind anyway, is that we seem to teach our children from an early age that they need to decide what they want to be when they grow up. And sure, part of that is determined by the gifts God’s placed within them. It’s obvious to us as parents. But there’s a whole other dimension to this.  Determining, asking, seeking, what God has planned for a specific life. Looking back in history, it’s fairly obvious that God’s will on just about every matter is not the same as ours. “My thoughts are higher than you thoughts.”  Perhaps that’s why we struggle to understand what He’s up to so often. 

Moses wouldn’t have chosen to go into the desert, he’d have liked to stay right there in Egypt. That was his plan. Go straight from A (Egyptian Majesty) to B (God’s Majesty). God’s plan was to take him through a desert, for 40 years, so that when he came back leading a million people he’d be humble, and comfortable with the terrain.  

So this piece of paper has traveled along way with me over the last 3 years, and it still speaks. 

It tells me that I am not who I would naturally think myself to be. That’s actually a good thing, the enemy would have me forget that I am a son of the Most High God.

Second, it reminds me that God has been in control, even when I thought that I was. Or thought no one was. That’s also very good.

And third, that He has planned a destiny, a destination, for me. For you. I think of the Psalms, and how children are likened to an arrow in a warrior’s quiver. You take an arrow, carefully aim it at a distant enemy,  and send it on it’s way. It goes well ahead of you, hitting what you may barely see. That’s the image I have of God determining a destiny for His children. We are like polished arrows, nocked and ready to be sent on our way to the target of His choosing.
 3  Children are a heritage from the LORD,
   offspring a reward from him.

  4   Like arrows in the hands of a warrior
   are children born in one’s youth.
  5  Blessed is the man
   whose quiver is full of them.
   They will not be put to shame 
   when they contend with their opponents in court.

OK, in review;

“Your destiny is NOT your decision”.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in destiny, self determination. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

