Dominion Versus Control

This discussion has just begun in another venue that I sometimes inhabit.

The conversation came about from a question a Divorced Dad asked regarding how he can raise his son with godly values. And how he can be a godly influence on the youngster when time with his son is very limited, and his legal rights with respect to the upbringing of the boy are limited as well.

Excellent question! Suddenly I’m listening intently.

And a very wise man made the comment that this is not a matter of tight-fisted control, but one of being present and active in your domain.  Of having dominion over the path God has given you, and influence over those who you are asked to humbly lead. It’s an opportunity to lead. By example.

This is a subject that is near and dear to my heart.  Very near, and very dear.

So I’m looking for, and thinking of, examples of this type of presence.  To keep in front of my own eyes, because I feel his pain. And discouragement.

So, dominion. God first gave it to Adam, over all of the creatures of the earth.

But God created man, male and female He created them, and then gave the mandate to “be fruitful and increase, fill the earth and subdue it…”  The Dominion given by God to Man was a joint, shared dominion. It was to be held, exercised,  in companionship and cooperation. In fact, it can only be fully exercised in a redeemed sense when it’s a joint venture by man and woman, in communion with God. Ah, suddenly I hear Ephesians, “submit therefore to one another…”

 So the lack of “dominion” we feel after divorce is reflecting the truth that man and woman are made for one another, and can only fulfill this mandate when joined in God’s sight. So, therefore, this lack of dominion that we feel after the separation of divorce is intrinsic to God’s design. Perfect dominion does not exist, or cannot be exercised, alone.

So, my quest is to rule benevolently in my domain, to exercise my God given authority to care for, tend to, the ones God has given me. That’s essentially what dominion is.  In fact, it is no different from the leadership Jesus entrusted to his servants. His shepherds are servants of His people. The greatest in the Kingdom is one who makes himself least, takes on the form of a bond servant.  In the best and most courageous examples of leadership throughout history, a good leader is seen as selfless, giving, daring, a visionary.  Given foresight, a prophetic gifting, in order to lead the people through trying times, and difficult places.

And dominion also has an element of stability, and good intent about it.

To exercise this in my home simply requires that I love and watch over those under my care, seeking God’s plan along side of them.

Now that doesn’t sound so hard to do, does it?

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in dominion. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dominion Versus Control

  1. KJP says:

    darn hard situation that is for sure! teen males resent female leadership and though they will appear to resent the father's as well – it really is what they need and will not remember any of the hour by hour gritting of teeth by the father – years later!lots of prayer, lots of guy stuff with him, and pick up the pieces when the melt down comes…..

  2. Angela says:

    I am not fully aligned with some of the Biblical concepts presented here but I really do appreciate the tone of the text. You come across as thoughtful, sincere, AND approachable (which is different from being easily influenced… so don’t think I am trying! [smile]). As a side note, I remember my dad often talking to me when I was a child that it was hard to be the disciplinarian when my mother needed reinforcement because he did not see us that often. My parents divorced when I was seven (my sister was 2) and my mother was the custodial parent, the bread winner and the care giver. Not my place to discuss the particulars within their relationship but I will say that no visitation pattern was ever established. Often, we would go months and sometimes years between visits. But, I remember understanding his point even at that age. It would not have been in the best interest of our relationship for him to take on that role exclusively with such limited time. In the end, it would have nice to have more time with him but that was not of my control, dominion or influence! 😉 Thanks for letting me stop through. Contributing to this conversation through the lens of the child… now all grown up.

  3. chuck says:

    Thank you, Angela! I don’t want biblical concepts to interfere with the discussion. I really appreciate your comment, and the insight from a child’s perspective. I can relate to your Dad’s comment, my kids have since grown up and recently moved out, but I still wonder how Dads can do a better job under these circumstances. I think this will always be worth discussing. Thanks again, Safe journey!

Leave a Reply

