A Kiss Is Not A Kiss

You know, I always suspected that kissing was an important thing in life. I mean, it sounds like a good kiss, and spending plenty of time with a good kisser, would be a very positive thing. I’m just sayin’…

But I have to discount my thoughts sometimes, my sister had a nickname for me as a teen.  “The Perv”. Not for any substantive reason, other than that I thought some of her girlfriends were kinda cute. My Dad thought it was hilarious…  teen girls, go figure!

You are going to get the wrong idea just from the title, and my first two sentences here, I can see that already.  🙂

But what is it about a kiss? What does it tell you? More than we ever knew, apparently;

“Kissing is part of an evolved courtship ritual,” said Gallup. “When two people kiss there is a rich and complicated exchange of information involving chemical, tactile, and postural cues. This may activate evolved mechanisms that function to discourage reproduction among individuals who are genetically incompatible.”

According to the researchers, not only do females place more emphasis on kissing, but most would never engage in sex without kissing.  Females were more likely than males to insist on kissing before a sexual encounter, and more likely to emphasize the importance of kissing during and after sexual encounters as well. By comparison, males said they would be happy to have sex without kissing, and far more males than females expressed a willingness to have sex with someone who was not a “good” kisser.

Males, however, were more likely than females to initiate open mouth kissing and kissing with tongue contact.  The researchers speculate that the exchange of saliva during kissing may have biological consequences in its own right.  Male saliva contains measurable amounts of the sex hormone testosterone which can affect libido.

The authors conclude that the study provides evidence that romantic kissing evolved as an adaptive courtship strategy that functions as a mate-assessment technique, a means of initiating sexual arousal and receptivity, and a way of maintaining a bonded relationship

See, I always knew that there was a lot going on behind the scenes that I didn’t understand. Kissing is a deeper, more intimate and meaningful way of communicating between the sexes, beyond words. You are actually learning something there, giving and receiving, creating something, strengthening it, or figuring out you don’t want it.

Now I know.  As my Grandmother was fond of saying, “you don’t have to know how to fix a car to drive fast…” And she drove FAST…  Now that I’ve taken the fun out of it for you, please promptly forget all you learned here about kissing. And just drive…

So, the moral is….if you are going to kiss, do it well. With the right one, of God’s choosing… of course.

For what it’s worth, it’s not just women who think that kissing is important ; ), as the Scientists would have us believe.  🙂

Heck, my Granny didn’t even know how to put gas in her own car, Gramps always did. Hmmm, Dad always filled my Mom’s car, too. Hold on, I’m seeing a trend here…

Coming full circle, I see the big picture. I’m betting somewhere in all of that, there was some serious smooching going on…

Hope ya’ll had a greatValentines Day!  ; )

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Kiss Is Not A Kiss

  1. Pingback: Love and Kisses « Women in Contemporary Relationships

Leave a Reply

