My Kingdom Is Not of This World

”Jesus answered, “My kingdom is not of this world. If My kingdom were of this world, My servants would fight, so that I should not be delivered to the Jews; but now My kingdom is not from here.”

I see a huge disconnect with how Christians, especially Western (at least that’s what I know about) have seen as their place in the world.  We say that we are first citizens of a Heavenly Kingdom-come, leaven in a lump of dough. But we have given up the full vision. And instead we’ve supported the ways of the world, the lower kingdom. We have bought into the lie that sociopolitical conflict and reform will perfect it.

But the kingdom we belong to is not of this world. It is not of flesh and blood. It does not work the way things down here work. Use of bloodshed, struggle, crusades, pogroms, forced conversions, have not brought the Kingdom any closer. If what Jesus said is true, fighting is evidence of the lower kingdom, a place where demons rule, and will in time be redeemed, changed, put off like grave clothes.

Today, many the world over are murdering, burning, and destroying property in supposed “defense” of the honor of a man who lived long ago.  Whether it is genuinely in response to a film, or at the behest of men of terror is immaterial. The proof of the pudding is always in the tasting. My point being that, like Elijah, we should expect Deities to testify on their own behalf.  If God be God, He will show up, light the altar himself, and we will all know His name, and the qualities of the Heavenly Kingdom.

“My kingdom is not of this world, else my servants would fight…”

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in Religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

