I Walk The Line

walkthelineIf only it were all so simple! If only there were evil people somewhere insidiously committing evil deeds, and it were necessary only to separate them from the rest of us and destroy them. But the line dividing good and evil cuts through the heart of every human being. And who is willing to destroy a piece of his own heart?

-Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn, The Gulag Archipelago

 

I don’t know about you, but I seem to confront this in myself more and more the older I become.

The things that wake me at night are not enemy armies poised here to enforce martial law, the corruption of our legal and political system, death of the Constitution, or US military manoeuvres in our backyards. They probably should though.

No, the things that haunt my dreams, that cause my heart to race and waken me from sleep are the loved ones that left me too soon, things that I have done, or left undone. Divorce, missing my kids, the passing of my father, my grandfather. These are the things that stalk me in the night.

More and more, I find myself thinking about the day that I breath my last. The day that all of these earthly cares that tug at us fall away.

The day that I meet Jesus.

“You’ve got a way to keep me on your side, You give me cause for love that I can’t hide.

For you I know I’d even try to turn the tide, Because you’re mine, I walk the line.

I keep a close watch on this heart of mine, I keep my eyes wide open all the time, I keep the ends out for the tie that binds,

Because you’re mine, I walk the line.”

Yeah, bet you never thought you’d see Cash and Solzhenitsyn quoted together in the same paragraph. That just proves the universal dilemma of man. We’re are good, and we are evil, and we always need saving.

About chuck

Aha! Look what I've created. I... have... made... FIRE!!!
This entry was posted in the heart. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

